One of the earliest references to a hotel being on this site
was back in 1844 when a local paper referred to it as the Causeway
Hall. In 1863, the Hall was taken over and completely renovated.
The new owner was a Mr. Trail of Ballylough who was an engineer
for the Giant's Causeway Tramway, which ran along the North
Antrim Coastline. Because of the approximation to the Giant's
Causeway, the tram and hotel worked closely together to bring
tourists into the region and cater for their needs. In an advertisement
in 1890, the hotel was renovated again and reopened with full
electricity, claiming to be the only hotel of the time with
Today the hotel as undergone another complete renovation, which
includes fully en-suite rooms with coffee/tea making facilities,
phones and TV. Many rooms have views of the sea and the famous
Giant's Causeway, which is beside the hotel. Guest lounge, restaurant
and on-site guest parking available.
While the tram is no longer in business, the hotel still attracts
tourist from all over the world. This is a stunning location
to spend a few days.